This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to say I loved it. I love Charlize Theron, she did a fantastic job as the evil Queen. I like that they gave her a past, a reason to be so evil. And well….Kristen Stewart sort of acts in it, I guess we can’t expect much more from her can we?

The idea of taking an old fairy tale and making it darker and giving it a harsher appearance is something that I have always liked. Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland is a good example of this. I think the Brothers Grimm’s stories were far more interesting than the Disney versions (although I do love them too) and I hope the darkening of fair tales continues in the future. If the new Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters and Maleficent (a new version of Sleeping Beauty told from the villains point of view starring Angelina Jolie as Malificent) are anything to go by then the trend will continue.

