This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I came across this Eartha Kitt (the woman who voiced the villainous Yzma in The Emperors new Groove) Terry Wogan interview on Youtube (link below), it’s from the late 80′s. It’s incredible how terrible her childhood was. I had no idea how much she had overcome, she was a child conceived of rape and given away to a cruel family who used her as a slave by her own mother.

She has an incredible voice, both in terms of singing and just speaking, one of the reasons I love the character of Yzma so much was because of the charisma and hilarity she oozes. The interview is definitely worth watching if you are an Eartha Kitt fan so I thought I would just share it with you guys if you’re interested.

As a side note I should add that she passed away on Christmas 2008 (a coincidence in that she was the singer of Santa Baby, one of the most famous Christmas songs of all time).

Part 1 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmSWVqpb-N0

Part 2 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5r0dWxy17C8&feature=relmfu

